Thursday, February 14, 2008

The Sickness




Usually winter is when people get sick, you know sore throat, stuffy nose, maybe you skip your early morning class to get some extra sleep so you feel better, usual winter stuff. Not this winter. We have so far had two outbreaks of veracious viruses here at Beloit College just this semester!

The first wave broke about a week after we had all gotten back from winter break, bringing with us all microbes from every corner of the country which combined and mutated making super virus #1, knocking out about half of the campus. Everywhere you went were people with stuff noses and coughs infecting those around them. This passed after a week or so with no known casualties.

Next came the super bug #2 which hit late last week. This virus had a far smaller infected population(mostly just phi psi's) but was even more deadly(a figurative term as no way has died...yet...). A guy I know in that house was catatonic for about 3 days before just giving up and going home to be with his blanky and is bed to heal in good time. Meanwhile in his absence several of his frat brothers have gotten sick and this author believes it is possible that one of those phi psi's has infected me!

Now you may say that just because I am taking Marion Fass's Infectious Disease class that I have become paranoid(and you would probably be right) but when I was over at phi psi today and heard about this new super virus my throat almost immediately began to feel sore and I began to feel fatigued(coincidence? I think not). Now I have learned that there are some virus's that can kill you in less then 24 hours; you feel fine in the morning and by night- BAM! your dead. Now I can only wait and use your micro lab to help me search for a cure. God be with us...

Sunday, February 10, 2008

French House, TKE and Gay/Straight Alliance House paries all in the same night AND its -50 degrees?!!!

Saturday night was the night for parties here at Beloit. We had three all campus parties and who knows how many smaller ones. And all this following of the heels of a huge party at the Spanish House on Friday night!

The Spanish House party was good fun, I got there around 12:30 after hanging out and chatting with for a few hours with some friends in my dorm room. All campus parties usually are from about 11pm-2 or 3am and most people do not really get there until about mid-night. When we got there it was packed with people dancing to Shakira and other Spanish artists. Danced there for about an hour two before I decided to call it a night so I would not be too tired to do some home work the next day.

Saturday night started out the same as Friday; hanging out with some people in the room until about 12:30. After that we all went out to the parties at TKE and the French House. We went pretty quickly between them as by this time it was about -20 degrees without the wind chill. During the night it got down to -50 with wind chill and even in the buildings it started getting cold(I have never had that happen before).

Sunday has been my productive day. Working out at on our brand new weight equipment(they finally got new stuff!) and getting some home work done for the coming week.