Thursday, January 24, 2008

RAMBO!!!!


For any of you out there that love terrible but amazing action movies I know you will join in celebrating the release of JOHN RAMBO!!!! comes out tomorrow and my frat is taking all the brothers there to a showing! I am so excited! I saw the youtube trailer(not the weak one they showed in theaters) and I cannot believe the movie is not NC-17. I will report back on Sunday as to how it goes.

Social Life During the Week

In high school all I ever heard about college as far as people getting together and partying was that it happens on the weekend, of course during high school you do get out and chill at some friends houses during the week but at least for me most of socializing during the week happened at school, during after school sports and clubs or on at parties on the weekend. This happened to me as well when I was looking at and visiting schools, all I ever heard about were weekend parties and I always wondered what people did other then homework during the rest of the week. For any of you that may have had similar experiences and are curious as to what happens at Beloit as far as life the other five days of the week hopefully this will give you some insight.

Ill give a run through of my day yesterday which was a fairly normal day for me at school. It started out with me first waking up at about 7:30am because both of my roommates are sciences majors which means they always have early morning class, I went back to sleep and got up around 10:10am and ran over to DK's grill since Commons closed at 9:30 so that I don't miss their breakfast which ends at 10:30(if you go after that you will use up your lunch swipe on your id and that is no good). So once I finished my Beloit Bagel(rip of egg mcmuffin) I went over to my international Econ class then right after that to The World Affairs Center for my Chinese class. After Chinese I had an hour break so I met up at Commons with about 8 of my friends for lunch. Lunch always seems to last the whole hour so I did not have a chance to catch up on the homework I didn't do the night before. My last class of the day was Emerging Infectious Disease and that lasted until 4 pm. After that I went back and chilled with my roommates for about half an hour then went over to the French house to see my girl friend. We headed over to dinner around 6 and ate with our usual crew for about an hour and a half. After that I had to run to a rowing meeting in the Java Joint(our campus coffee shop) which was for any new people that were interested in the club(we got three new rowers!) after the meeting I had a nice chat catching up with some of the other rowers who I hadn't seen since before the break. Since my roommate had gotten a new monitor for his computer the day before so we decided to screw homework(this is pretty rare occurrence for those who want to pass their classes but we didnt have too much) and give it and our new couch a test drive so we had about 5 other people over and watched the film "The Way of the Gun," a really cool but little know movie with some big names. It was about 1:30am when we finished and I was pretty tired so decided to hit the hay since I had a 9 o'clock class the next day.


Also if any of you that read this blog have any questions about anything regarding life at Beloit that I can help with please don't hesitate to contact me or any one of the other SOI's. All you have to do is fill out a simple online form with how you want us to reach you and we will get in touch with you either by phone or email.

and heres a picture of me chasing a sea turtle

Tuesday, January 22, 2008

The Second Week: Reality Hits, and The New Room Improvments

Well now that we here at Beloit have entered our second week of classes, I for an starting to feel reality closing in. My first Chinese quiz is tomorrow and following last years tradition I will probably stay up late tonight trying to cram in characters and tones. Though we do have about one quiz a week they end up counting for a substantial portion of your overall grade so I am really going to try to start off with a bang. Along with Chinese to study for I am going to get down to reading about emerging infection diseases along with Chinese Politics to help balance out my night. That is one thing that I really like about Beloit; that I can take a cool Bio class to fulfill my div 1 requirements even though I am an IR major, though the class is quite big for Beloit(about 30 people) we still get to do cool labs.



the new couch(actual couch varies from pic)!

Also my roommate Ethan just a got a new 22inch monitor today which is going to be amazing for watching movies. The fact that we were getting the monitor actually acted as the catalyst for moving our entire room around. It has worked out beautifully and the rooms are much more livable with the help of a couch we picked up down the street from salvation army (a common place to see dollar conscience Beloit College students). Coupled with some cheap surround speakers that we got at the beginning of the year, our new beautiful couch, and the fact that my bed is lofted so high I am now sleeping about 1ft from the ceiling this monitor has helped turn our room into a sweet hangout spot to chill, party, watch movies and listen to some tunes. So as you can see this is a very exciting time to be living in room 215 in 810 college street.

Sunday, January 20, 2008

The First Post!


Hi everyone! This is my first post ever on a blog so it is a very exciting time me and I am sure for you too. We are on the tail end of the first weekend back from our winter break and I think everyone is thankful that we had those two days to relax after the first week of classes.


It was great to get back and see everyone after being away for almost a month; it seems like most people start to get antsy to come back after new years and of course it is always great for those first few days to see everyone and hear what they got to do over the break.

The first few days of class back at Beloit are always great because you get to hear all the reasons that this class will be great without having to do any labs or any of the other hard stuff that comes later in the semester. For this semester I tried to take 5 classes because they all either sounded really interesting or I need them as requirments for my major (actually it worked out pretty well that most classes fit both catagories) but I realized after the first day I would either have to stop sleeping or socializing if I wanted to get through the semester with good grades( and I feel that the college experience is about much more then just academics) so I had to drop my education class.

It was a bit of a ruff start getting used to doing work agian after a month of pure recreation but I feel like I am getting back into the swing of college life agian witout too much trouble. I was able to host a little party with my two roomates this weekend with about 15 of our friends, go out on saterday night, sleep in alot and still have enought time to finish some of my homework(it may be a late night tonight) so for all of you looking to go hear dont get too scared you can do well in school and still have a great socials like.

Also we just had the Beloit International Film Festival over the weekend which unfortunatly I did not get to go to but some of the movies looked quite good.